Ingredients to Avoid on a Gluten-Free Diet
Reading labels may not help you determine if a product contains gluten because of the lack of guidelines by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). According to the FDA website, “there is no FDA regulation that defines the term gluten-free. However, FDA has not objected to the use of the term gluten-free in the labeling of foods, provided that when such a claim is made, it is truthful and not misleading” (www.fda.gov, 2012). This means that products that contain gluten but are not inherently grain-related, do not have to reveal its presence. This is particularly troubling for those who suffer from celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.
- Excerpt from Food 101 - Gluten, the first in the Food 101 series of e-books published by Natural Girl Diary